Quantcast

Starbucks’ Frappuccinos are Closer to Becoming Kosher with Possible Ingredient Change

The Kosher status of Starbucks has always been one of confusion, with a whole website literally dedicated to just that (KosherStarbucks.com).
strawberry frapp
Many vegans and Kosher observant consumers have been complaining for a while about the cochineal extract, which is derived from insects, that Starbucks uses to flavor their strawberry and other Frappuccinos.

Starbucks is aware that many people have been avoiding their strawberry-based and other Frap products for this reason, and rumors persist that they are looking into using lycopene, a vegan based extract, to flavor these products instead.

This is exciting news for Starbucks lovers everywhere, because if they do replace the cochineal extract with something vegan, the OU, who already certifies them, will reassess their Kosher status!

Source: Kosher Today

20130813-185117.jpg

About the author

Talia Rona

  • Sarah Klinkowitz

    That would be nice. Starbucks would have a lot more customers if they made more kosher/vegan changes.

  • Keep us posted!

  • LilMissCakes

    This is super exciting news!

Subscribe






logo

 

 

Credit Card Offers

  • SQUARE – $1k in Free Credit Card Processing


Up to 80k UR points | Apply


Up to 25k points
Apply (Personal Card) | Apply (Biz Card)


Up to $150 Cash Back + 6% Back on Groceries | Apply


Up to 80k points | Apply


Up to 15k Points + No fee!| Read more | Apply