Rumor: Skittles to become OU Kosher certified

This is potentially exciting news for those of us Kosher keepers with a sweet tooth. I have never tried Skittles in my life and this would be pretty amazing. We will owe the OU a special thanks for making it happen.

Currently, Skittles is NOT kosher as it contains Gelatin. If the rumor is true, Jews will now be able to “Taste the Rainbow”.

Should this become a reality, are you excited to try Skittles?


About the author

Dani Klein

Dani Klein is the founder of YeahThatsKosher, is passionate about global travel, good kosher food / restaurants, social media & the web, technology, digital marketing, and spending time with his friends & family.

Dani has an MBA in Marketing and works in the Social Media Marketing field for a large media agency.

  • Dahlia

    I’ve actually had them, because they were kosher in England for a while, and they are quite delightful. Sort of like M&M-shaped/sized jelly beans with a thicker, harder candy shell. They’re certainly not lifechangingly good, but it’d still be nice to be able to consume them on a slightly more regular basis. I will get super excited, however, if flavors other than “original” get a hashgacha, because that’s never happened anywhere as far as I know.

    • Flora

      Good News! Kosher Skittles have arrived to the USA! They are imported by Paskesz Kosher Candy and are slowly making their way into the local grocery stores. I saw today that http://www.onlykoshercandy.com has them up for sale. Yay!

  • Bethany

    I haven’t always kept Kosher and I LOVED skittles. I used to buy them in bulk in Costco. Potentially life changing news for me :)

  • jdh11

    Skittles have not had gelatin in them for about a year already. Check the ingredient panels. They even have a “gelatin-free” disclaimer on the packaging, which is a sign that they see lack of gelatin in the product as something that could increase sales.


Facebook Group

Credit Card Offers

  • SQUARE – $1k in Free Credit Card Processing

Up to 80k UR points | Apply

Up to 25k points
Apply (Personal Card) | Apply (Biz Card)

Up to $150 Cash Back + 6% Back on Groceries | Apply

Up to 80k points | Apply

Up to 15k Points + No fee!| Read more | Apply