Download our Kosher Restaurant directory app

California News Pesach / Passover

Coca-Cola Not Kosher for Passover in California

The famous "yellow cap" Kosher for Pesach COKE
The famous “yellow cap” Kosher for Pesach COKE

Looking for the Coke with the yellow bottle caps in LA? SF? SD? You won’t find it this year again. According to

Update: Kosher consumers in Los Angeles are reporting that K4P Coke is available at a few locals markets. However, the below article may still ring true as these bottles may be (illegally?) shipped from out of state. Currently not clear as to the official state rules. Will continue to investigate.

Coca-Cola may be missing from Passover feasts for the second year in a row in California.

The Coca-Cola Co. said Thursday it once again won’t be able to make “kosher for Passover” versions of its flagship cola this year because of manufacturing changes that were made in the state (of California).

A spokeswoman for the Atlanta-based company said in an email that Coca-Cola has made “good progress” in developing kosher for Passover drinks in the state but that it’s still monitoring the shelf stability of those products for quality assurance.

She said they should be available next year.

Coke directed its suppliers last year to change the way they manufacture caramel to reduce levels of the chemical 4-methylimidazole, or 4-MEI, after California listed it as a carcinogen. Regular Coca-Cola is sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup in the United States, but the Passover version is made with sugar.

About the author

Dani Klein

Dani Klein founded YeahThatsKosher in 2008 as a global kosher restaurant & travel resource for the Jewish community.

He is passionate about traveling the world, good kosher food / restaurants, social media & the web, technology, hiking, strategy games, and spending time with his friends & family.


Click here to post a comment